Honors and Awards

Livermore researchers win PECASE

Whitley and Banks

The Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Two LLNL researchers won a PECASE Award in 2012, and both of them have received LDRD support at critical stages in their award-winning research.

Read more: Livermore researchers win PECASE


Kiplinger Named RSC Fellow

Jaqueline Kiplinger

Jaqueline Kiplinger of Los Alamos National Laboratory's Materials Chemistry Division has been selected as a a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC). The Royal Society of Chemistry is Europe’s largest professional and academic society for chemistry and traces its roots to the Chemical Society of London, established in 1841. Fellowship is awarded to nominees who have made sustained outstanding contributions to the advancement or application of chemical science or who have demonstrated excellence in the chemical science profession.

Read more: Kiplinger Named RSC Fellow


Johnson Named AGU Fellow

Paul Johnson

Paul Johnson of Los Alamos National Laboratory's Earth and Environmental Science Division has been selected as a 2011 American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fellow.

The position of Fellow is a special tribute for those who have made exceptional scientific contributions to the Earth and space sciences. This designation is awarded to no more than 0.1 percent of all AGU members in any given year. A committee of Fellows chooses new Fellows.

Read more: Johnson Named AGU Fellow


Sandia's Gary Grest Awarded APS Prize

  Sandia’s Gary Grest presents his awards presentation talk on polymer brushes

Gary Grest was co-recognized with the 2011 Polymer Physics Prize at the American Physical Society March 2011 Meeting in Dallas, TX. He shared the prize with Kurt Kremer from the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research (for different independent polymer research). The annually presented Polymer Physics Prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the recipient’s excellence of contribution to polymer physics research. Gary was cited “for establishing numerical simulation as a tool on equal footing with experiment and theory in the field of polymer science, as exemplified by seminal simulations of entangled polymer melt dynamics.” He accepted the prize from APS President (Barry C. Barish, California Instititute of Technology) and Dr. Steven Hahn (Dow Senior Scientist), subsequently delivering an awards presentation entitled “Polymer Brushes: Why do We Still Care?”


Page 1 of 3